Summer musings

girl-380621_1920.jpgLife has been rather hectic lately. I’ve been bouncing from weekend to weekend, with barely enough time to recharge in between. However, I’ve been able to avoid complete burnout, which is a new feeling, and very enjoyable. It’s far easier to recharge from 10% than from 0%. While I still make bad decisions at times, this summer has been full of positive experiences and I’m excited for the future.

I no longer force myself to do something simply to please others. While I may feel a bit guilty at first, I’ll counter that feeling by reminding myself how vital alone time is. By showing respect to myself, I’m showing others I’m worthy of respect. I’m also pretty stubborn, so if someone pressures me to do something I don’t want to, I’ll typically dig in my heels. Perhaps not the best attribute, but it comes in handy when dealing with pushy people πŸ˜‰

I also find that, as I get older, I care less and less what others think of me. It’s been such a freeing and wonderful feeling. In the past, I worked hard to be as “fun” as possible but it was at the expense of my peace of mind and I was miserable. I’ve come to realize that not everyone is going to like me, and that’s perfectly okay.

These changes have occurred because of a few amazing people in my life. Several of my close friends and family are incredibly perceptive. They can tell if something is bothering me and they’ll ask me about it. Or if I’m interrupted, they’ll always ask me what I was going to say. I know I’m being heard and I know they truly care. It’s helped me become more vulnerable with them and I want to encourage others the same way.

And thank you to everyone who reads and comments on my blog, I’m so appreciative and grateful for your support and I’m happy you’re here!

How’s your summer been?

12 thoughts on “Summer musings

  1. Mason McLeod says:

    It looks like I am younger than you, Ally, but I have spent this summer realizing a lot of the same that you have. I have been blessed with a family and a significant other who care about me and are perceptive and kind in asking me how they can help. It’s absolutely lovely to experience and I am glad that you are so open in sharing your experiences with us as readers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JD says:

    That’s so great. I’ve been learning how to be careful with my time and my yes and no’s to people. Trying not to do what others want/expect me to do and not feeling guilty for it. I counter the guilt by the feeling of freedom and joy I have when I say yes to me and remember that I matter too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Thanks! It’s taken a long time to get to this point, but it’s been worth the time and struggle. I hope your journey continues to improve! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Kattie Kate says:

    I can definitely relate to the guilt trip that comes with breaking off plans and spending time alone. Actually I’m thinking to myself now and have spent all day doing so. Life is good! I hope you’ve had a lovely summer!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. artyplantsman says:

    Absolutely agree with your comment about age making you care less about what others think. I’ve found this too. I no longer feel guilty about declining social events, I don’t feel I need to make up excuses but just say a polite ‘thank you but it just isn’t my kind of thing’. The people who know me best simply accept this. People who can’t accept this are not people I’d want to be with anyway.
    The first pat of my summer was no fun but things have improved markedly in the last couple of weeks πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      That’s very true. People who get upset if I refuse an invitation usually aren’t the type of people I’d want to spend time with anyways πŸ˜‰ Glad to hear things have improved for you in the last couple of weeks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

