On busy days

holiday-table-1926946_1920These past few weeks have been a whirlwind of events. I’ve only now had the chance to catch my breath and catch up on some quiet time. While I love being busy and having a lot to do, it was a challenge to battle through late nights and long days. Coffee and I were becoming pretty good friends towards the end.

But in the midst of the chaos, I experienced a really encouraging moment. I was attending a dinner party that ran quite late into the evening. This took place after several busy days and late nights. To say I was exhausted would be an understatement. As a result, my brain was sluggish and I struggled to engage in the main conversation (I had several lovely one-on-one conversations). In the past, I would have mentally berated myself for being unable to participate more fully. But this time, I acknowledged how tired I was, told myself that feeling this way was normal, and didn’t pressure myself say anything if I couldn’t.ย It was a really positive experience.

For anyone who has self-deprecating thoughts (and I still struggle with them) keep moving forward. I keep reminding myself that if someone else were struggling with the same thing, I’d be patient and encouraging. I need to extend that same positivity to myself.

How’s your week going so far?

12 thoughts on “On busy days

  1. Bart Leahy says:

    I gave up on feeling guilty about not socializing more. I usually last about two hours at any social event–sometimes much less–before I “ghost.” I figure it’s either that or I fall asleep in a chair or start snapping at people, either of which would be socially welcome. In the end, you have to look out for you. You can be polite about it, of course, but apologetic should not make the list.

    /b

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wanderingssoul78 says:

    I have been going and going for weeks. I am beyond my comfort zone and exhausted. I have not had enough time to recharge the way I need. I get a few moments hear and there, enough to keep me going from one thing to the next. Coffee is my best friend lol. I am desperately try g to find the “me” time I need. I haven’t written in some time or panted or done any of the things I love, but it’s time to change that. I do not want to end up sick. I hope you get the time you need to unwind and recharge ๐Ÿ™‚. Good luck

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

