3 blogging tips

typewriter-801921_1920My blog is nearly three years old, I can hardly believe it. But the whole reason I’ve made it this far is because of you! I really appreciate all the support I’ve received through the years. Whether you’ve followed my blog, like and comment on my posts, or just stop by every once in a while, thank you.  It really means a lot.

Here are a few things I’ve learned along the way.

1. Write about what you love.
We all write for different reasons. I wanted to connect with other introverts and highly sensitive people (and anyone who stops by). I also wanted to share my experiences and lessons in the hopes that I could make someone else’s journey a bit easier. Some write as a way to process their thoughts and feelings. Some write to share their expertise. When you write about things you love, or that are close to you, your sincerity shines through. Writing then becomes enjoyable, rather than an obligation.

2. Connect with others.
I started writing to connect with others. To know that I’m not alone in my experiences is incredibly encouraging. To gain the wisdom of those who have figured out things I’m still struggling with has been so valuable. I’ve been completely blown away by the warmth of the community here and I’m grateful for all the connections I’ve gained. As an introvert, being able to connect with people online, without the overwhelm of in-person interaction, is pretty awesome.

3. Have fun.
Blogging should be enjoyable. Have fun with it. Experiment with different kinds of posts and figure out what you like writing. Try out personal posts, short stories, opinion pieces, quotes, pictures, tag posts, etc. Write the things you want to write. Not the things you think other people want to read.

Any other tips to share?

8 thoughts on “3 blogging tips

  1. Britta says:

    Don’t blog if you don’t feel like it. I used to force myself to write posts just to keep up with my blog, when all I really wanted to do at that time was journal privately or take some time away from writing. When blogging becomes a chore, content suffers and it loses what made it a special activity in the first place.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Kaye Star says:

      I definitely agree with this! I used to worry about my blog being inactive because I would occasionally go for as long as a month without a post if I didn’t force something. But the result was a lot of blog content I didn’t really care about. This is the reason another blog of mine ended. It became more work than fun.

      It’s better to be inactive for a month because you don’t have an idea than inactive for a year because you’re sick of writing.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

