30 things that make me happy

man-1156619_1920We’ve been experiencing another deluge of snow, the days are bitterly cold, and it seems as though winter is here to stay. I see photos of friends starting their gardens and I wonder, yet again, why I live in Canada. When its cold, wintry, and overcast, it’s easy for me to become unmotivated and moody. So I thought I’d share a few things that make me happy. Let me know what yours are too!

1. The warmth of the sun on my face.
2. The warm, squishy hugs I get from my family when I come home to visit.
3. Lighting candles and enjoying their warm, cozy glow.
4. The ritual of making tea: boiling the water, measuring out the leaves, letting everything steep, and finally sitting down and sipping the hot, fragrant liquid.
5. Hearing the birds singing outside my window in the morning.
6. Finishing up a creative project and hanging it up/giving it to someone.
7. Pulling on warm clothes straight from the dryer.
8. Taking a nice, hot, relaxing bath.
9. Going for a winter walk in the snow, watching the flakes drift down from the sky.
10. Planning out my next road trip or vacation.
11. Exploring the city on foot and finding little secret places.
12. When spring finally arrives and I don’t have to wear my winter clothes.
13. The smell of rain in the air and on the pavement.
14. Laughing so hard my stomach hurts.
15. When certain scents give me feelings of nostalgia.
16. Getting surprise text messages from friends.
17. When people give me cute nicknames.
18. Researching things I’m passionate about.
19. Dipping my toes in the ocean, running across the sand, and the smell of salt water.
20. Looking up at the stars and thinking about life.
21. Giving and receiving random acts of kindness.
22. Designing things, whether for work, others, or myself.
23. The spicy smell of cloves, reminds me of my grandparents.
24. Going for walks in beautiful places.
25. Singing along to my favourite songs while driving.
26. Taking photos during golden hour.
27. Catching up with friends and talking for hours.
28. Listening to beautiful classical music.
29. Watching the sunrise/sunset with a mug of tea.
30. Finishing up a great workout.

What are some things that make you happy?

10 thoughts on “30 things that make me happy

  1. twainwall says:

    Great post Ally. 🙂

    I really love to hear the blackbirds singing in the morning here in the UK in early spring, it means that everything is moving again and the garden beckons, the days are so much longer too. 😀

    Thanks for this Ally I needed a bit of a cheer up today as I’ve been thinking about a friend who I haven’t spoken to in a long time and probably one of the only poeple I really miss! 🙂

    Have a good weekend. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

