4 tips for staying healthy

bicycle-1209682_1280.jpgLast weekend was crazy. It all started on Friday morning. My friends and I piled into two cars and made the 5 hour drive to visit friends in another province. We then spent a busy Friday and Saturday with them. Late nights and early mornings were the norm and our departure on Sunday came far too soon. Cue another five hour car trip with music, conversation, and lots of stimulus.

I had a lovely time but it was extremely exhausting. My introverted and highly sensitive self desperately needed a break. By Monday after work I felt pretty bad. The cold I had previously beaten seemed ready to make another appearance.

I wanted to share a few things I do when I start feeling sick. While none of these things will “cure” a cold, it gives my immune system the help it needs to fight it off.

1. Go to bed early.
As a night owl, this is a hard one for me. But if I’m trying to avoid sickness, it’s vital that I get more sleep. I try to get to bed an hour earlier than I normally do. Sometimes it feels like I’m missing out on being productive, but it’s far more preferable to getting sick.

2. Drink more water.
I need to drink more water in general. It’s even more important when I’m fighting a cold. I love adding slices of lemon, lime, cucumber, or strawberries to my water. Or I’ll drink hot water with lemon and ginger and herbal teas.

3. Get outside.
It’s amazing how fresh air can make you feel better. I try to get out for a walk or a light jog. I’ll also open up the windows in my place and let everything air out.

4. Eat a healthy diet.
Due to food sensitivities, my daily fare is quite healthy. But if I start to feel sick, I cut out anything processed and limit the amount of sugar (even in fruit) that I eat. I make bone broth and love kombucha so I’ll add those to my diet as well.

Do you have any additional tips for staying healthy?

7 thoughts on “4 tips for staying healthy

  1. Bart Leahy says:

    My number one personal method for staying healthy is staying out of temperatures above 60 degrees Fahrenheit. Between 32 and 59 degrees, my joy diminishes. Below the freezing point, I get sick. Every. Single. Time. 🙂

    Re: sleep

    It’s not just a matter of when I go to bed, but I need 7-8 hours on a regular basis to keep my brain from getting fuzzy around the edges.

    Re: diet

    Even if I’m not sick, I’ll start defaulting to a sick-like diet if I think I’m in danger of it, which means simpler food (soup, bread), going easier on adult beverages, and loading up on vitamin C.

    Stay healthy!

    /b

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      All great points! I’m also a big fan of vitamin C. I hate getting sick, so if I even start feeling a little sniffle, I’ll do everything I can in my power to avoid it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Warrior Freya says:

    If I start feeling sick I start adding honey to things since it’s an anti-viral, same with cinnamon. That usually means drinking more teas. I try to find teas that are good for sleeping and or respiratory health since when I’m sick I normally get congested.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

