Musings on motivation

6898615547_e1aeafa154_zThe topic of motivation has been in my thoughts lately. I’ve been thinking about what my own motivations are. I recently came to the realization that a lot of things I do for others comes from a desire to please, something I’ve been working to rectify. But that isn’t the only thing that motivates me.

Blogging
I originally began this blog after discovering I was a perfectly normal introvert. I wanted to connect with others and share my experiences. There’s also the cathartic aspect, a way to express the emotions I’m experiencing. But the thing that’s kept me writing for more than two years is the incredible community I discovered. I’m so grateful to be able to connect with so many of you. Every comment, like, and view is something I cherish. Whether you’ve been reading since the beginning, or starting today, thank you.

Relationships
One of the biggest motivations for me, when it comes to personal relationships, is a desire for depth. I want to be able to discuss things like history, science, politics, religion, literature, etc. To dig deep, rather than skim the surface. Social media tells us we need lots of Twitter followers and Facebook friends in order to be successful and happy. I’d rather have a few close friends with whom I can converse about the deeper things of life. That’s far more rewarding to me.

Health
In order to push myself in my workouts, I always need to have an end goal in mind. Last year, it was the Spartan Race that pushed me to train harder, eat healthier, drink more water, and go to bed on time. I knew the harder I worked during the year, the easier the race would be (and it was still far from easy). And once I started feeling the benefits of living a healthier life, I didn’t want to go back to the way things were before.

What motivates you?

Image credit: “Profile112” by Fit Approach is licensed under CC by 2.0

 

6 thoughts on “Musings on motivation

  1. Salvageable says:

    What motivates me?
    Some days it’s the hope that what I do is helping another person or making that person’s life better.
    Some days it’s the opportunity to use my mind and imagination and express myself and create something new.
    Some days it’s the bills and the need for a paycheck. J.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Warrior Freya says:

    Thank you for such a thought provoking blog.

    I think a lot of my motivation and drive comes from wanting to not only be better than who I was the day before but to make the world better than it was the day before, too.

    If I can help one person, if I can do one thing to be a positive influence, then I’m doing good.

    That’s something I’m finding with my job search. I need depth and meaning in whatever I do. I don’t want something surface level and shallow just to pay the bills. I want something where I can really connect with people and help them achieve something meaningful and significant in their life.

    Knowing that what I’m doing is helping people is insanely motivating and fulfilling for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      So glad you enjoyed it. I find myself thinking similar thoughts about my own job situation. I enjoy my job and it pays the bills, but there’s no creative outlet and I’ve been feeling a bit stifled. I’ve decided to start doing more creative things in my free time, photography and video projects and more art. I hope you can find a job that holds all the depth and meaning you need 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

