3 lessons I’ve learned from working out

working outAs I completed my workout last night, I noticed a lot more people in the change rooms and on the floor. December marks the start of an influx of new gym-goers. Although it makes the gym more crowded and they often lack an awareness of gym etiquette, I really hope they stick with their goals and make fitness a habit. This year marks the third year of my own fitness journey. I wanted to share a few things I’ve learned from working out (but they also apply to life in general).

1. Learn to do hard things.
Creating new habits and becoming healthier isn’t a 30 day challenge. It’s a lifelong commitment to bettering yourself. It’s hard work picking up heavy things and putting them back down. It’s hard work getting up early (for me at least, I’m jealous of all you early birds) to go to the gym. It’s hard work going to the gym after a long day at work. But nothing worth having is ever easy. Health, relationships, good habits, all require time and effort. Accept that what you’re doing is difficult, then tackle it head on!

Forcing myself to do hard things and to push past my comfort zone not only leads to personal achievement but also helps develop a mindset. A mindset that you can do hard things. I’ve found that I’m more willing to challenge myself in other areas simply because I’m used to challenging myself at the gym.

2. Enjoy the benefits (but don’t get complacent).
Working out consistently boosts my energy, helps me sleep better, and motivates me to improve other areas of my life. It’s helped keep me active during the winter when I don’t go outside unless I have to. It’s motivated me to improve my eating habits and make meals from scratch. It’s motivated me to work on my sleep schedule. It’s also boosted my confidence both inside and outside the gym.

With my focus on strength training, I’ve seen a noticeable difference in how much I can lift. I’ve also noticed changes in how my body looks and feels. But if I slack off, things will go back to the way they were before and I don’t want that. I want to keep improving.

3. I need order in my life.
I’m the kind of person who needs organization in my life. I’ve tried “being more flexible and letting things be” but it always ends in me forgetting things and getting stressed out. So I’ve learned to embrace organization and order. When it comes to workouts, I need to schedule them into my week or they won’t happen. I need a plan of action, or a program to follow, to keep me headed in the right direction. I also have an end goal in mind to keep me motivated. I’ve learned that organization is an essential tool in helping me achieve my goals.

Do you have any goals for the coming year?

Image credit: “60” by Fit Approach is licensed under CC by 2.0

2 thoughts on “3 lessons I’ve learned from working out

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    I was talking with my sister-in-law shortly before I left to come back home. We were talking about the new year and how we “can’t wait for 2016 to die.”

    The subject of resolutions came up. I said my resolution this year was to be happy. I’m not sure exactly what that will mean or how it will shape my life, but I’ve realized something. The thought of going to California doesn’t make me happy. It would be four to nine months of me waiting to come back to Orlando where I could finally start living again.

    I don’t want to wait to live. I don’t want to leave my dojo or the family that I’ve found there. I don’t want to leave my friends and support structure.

    If something doesn’t make me feel good then I probably shouldn’t be doing it. So I’m going to start asking myself, “Does this make me happy?” If the answer is no, then I’ll have to find some alternate course of action or find a better compromise.

    I’m not going to sacrifice my happiness for a paycheck or someone else’s comfort. I have done that for most of my life. Not this year.

    We’ll see where this resolution takes me. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      So happy you’re figuring out the direction you want your life to take. Life is precious and it’s not worth wasting time on things that aren’t meaningful or that you don’t enjoy.

      This year is my year of standing up for myself, I’m looking forward to it! Thank you so much for your comment and I hope you have a wonderful 2017, I know you’ll do great!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

