The joys of winter

Snowy day

If I had to list the seasons in order of enjoyment, winter would be at the very bottom. I think it’s likely due to the frigid temperatures, icy roads, and blowing snow. But in the spirit of being positive, I wanted to share a few of my favourite things about winter.

1. I love the first snowfall that coats everything in a thick layer of white. I love taking the first few steps through pristine snow and watching the snowflakes drift through the air as they sparkle and dance in the breeze.

2. I love all the hot beverages. Hot cocoa, hot apple cider, hot mulled wine, tea, and coffee are all delicious. They taste even better when its cold out and you’re inside.

3. I love Saturday and Sunday mornings during the winter. I usually sleep in until about 8 am, then get to spend a few moments snuggling under my comfy duvet, wrapped in my blankets. Then I leisurely make breakfast while wearing my cozy pajamas and slippers.

4. I love walking outside and feeling the frosty air nip at my skin as it leaves rosy tracks in its wake. I also enjoy tobogganing and skating as long as I’m bundled up and warm.

5. Winter is the perfect time for comfort foods. Hearty homemade soups, stews, chili, and mac & cheese are extra satisfying. I also love all the holiday-themed foods like gingerbread, peppermint bark, and egg nog (I found the most delicious dairy free version, its so addicting).

If I look at all the winter things I enjoy, this season really isn’t that bad 😉 What are some of your favourite things about winter?

Image credit: “Snowy Landscape” by Leo Vähä is licensed under CC by 2.0

11 thoughts on “The joys of winter

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    Winter is normally the time of the year where my family is able to be together. I think out of everything that’s what I like the most. Sometimes I like the cold, gray, overcast days where everything feels quiet. They’re the perfect nap days. I also enjoy seeing my friends get into the “holiday” spirit. A lot of them enjoy the gift giving aspect and seeing them in high spirits makes me smile. We normally make extra time to see each other since we all leave for the holidays, too.

    Winter is definitely not my favorite season, but over the years I’ve gotten better about appreciating and respecting what it’s meant for. It’s a time of reflection. I look back at the year and see what all happened; what I survived and accomplished. Winter is about recovery and planning for the New Year. What do I want to do, change, start, stop? I take stock of my life essentially and make sure I’m headed in the direction I want to be going.

    It may not be my favorite, but it has its place in the cycle of everything. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Yes, winter definitely has it’s good points, even though it’s my least favourite 😉 I agree with you, it’s almost as if one purpose of winter is to force you to slow down. To give you the time to ruminate about the past and plan for the future. I’ve definitely started going through some of the things that worked this year (and that I want to continue) and some things I need to change. Hope you have a lovely weekend, I always enjoy hearing from you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

