On thankfulness

Sunset beautyHappy Thanksgiving to all those who celebrate today! We in Canada enjoyed ours last month but you can never have too many reminders to count your blessings. Thanksgiving is definitely a good time to sit down with a cup of tea and contemplate all the good things in your life.

There are so many things I’m thankful for. I’m thankful for my family. They have always been warm and supportive, loving, and kind. I have such a good relationship with them and I’m so grateful.

I’m thankful for my stable and well-paying job that allows me to support myself. I have enough to live on and I don’t go hungry. That’s a huge blessing, especially in these difficult and trying economic times.

I’m thankful for the experiences I had growing up. They’ve molded and shaped me into the person I am today. While trials and problems are not pleasant while you experience them, I’ve learned so much and am (slightly) wiser and more patient than before. I want to keep growing in that direction.

I’m also thankful for being an introvert (although I didn’t always view it as a blessing). Here are a few reasons why being introverted is something to be appreciated:

Feeling things deeply

This one can be both wonderful and difficult. I’m slowly coming to the point where I allow myself to feel things as they are. I obviously still have control over my emotions, but I’ve stopped burying my feelings and never letting them surface. By allowing myself to experience sadness or anger in a healthy way, I have also experienced joyful emotions on a deeper level. Beautiful things can move me to tears. I don’t see that as a fault any more.

Alone but not lonely

Introverts are rarely bored on our own. In fact, we’re often more bored when surrounded by people. We have the ability to completely dive into our passions and hobbies. We can entertain ourselves with our thoughts. Solitude isn’t a concept that frightens us, in fact, it’s rather exciting. We can still get lonely, but we don’t crave attention the way some do.

Incredible listening skills

I’ve listed this one before but it’s such a huge asset. We may be still working on our speaking skills (I’m still working on speaking up when I want to contribute) but we’ve got listening skills down to an art. Everyone wants to be heard so we’re a valuable commodity in a loud and noisy world. We often have a quieter presence which can be very calming to those around us. However, when we are deliberate and intentional in our speaking, others take notice pretty quickly.

Thinking a lot

We think and analyze. We mull things over and turn them around and upside down in our minds. As a result, I’ve rarely said anything I regretted. This can be a huge benefit as we usually don’t intentionally say offensive things. Of course, people may be offended by our lack of speech as well, but you can’t win them all 😉

What are some things you’re grateful for?

Image credit: “Harbour Lands Park…” by Jeff S. PhotoArt at HDCan is licensed under CC by 2.0

16 thoughts on “On thankfulness

  1. thecoffeebeanbrain says:

    Reblogged this on The Coffee Bean Brain and commented:
    Today, I feel blessed just by reading posts of gratitude, even if we don’t exactly practice the holiday on my side of the globe. Your attitudes of thankfulness transcends virtually and makes me aware of what a gift we truly have to be alive and spend it with people we love.

    This year, one of the things I am grateful for includes the opportunity to think, be quiet and spend time with myself as I haven’t done for a long time. I discovered my introvert personality and gave me the chance to love and embrace myself better. I know I have more to learn and accept about myself and I am looking forward to that growth.

    Writing and connecting with bloggers has been an added blessing.
    I was able to find refuge amidst the words of those who can express exactly what I feel that I can’t bring out myself, becoming aware that I have others with me on the same journey.

    Despite writing (and blogging) being challenging at times, the blessings come in having other people to look up to, get inspiration from and just interact with about life and the in-between. I have definitely learned a lot.

    Everyday is an opportunity to be grateful for the things and people we have in our lives. But I think having a day to celebrate thankfulness is even more special because we become “extra thankful” about everything.

    I know my next gratitude post might just be around the corner but for now, I am sharing this simple list of qualities from Ally of “welcome to my little piece of quiet” about appreciating myself as an introvert.

    Have a great weekend everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bart Leahy says:

    Happy day after Thanksgiving (“Happy” Black Friday?)! I’ve been celebrating a rather loud weekend with friends…perhaps too loud, I’m about ready to go into a decompression hole for a couple days. However, I am quite thankful that there are some people out there with whom I feel comfortable enough to be silly with. I have quite a few online acquaintances, but my really close friends stick with me for years and years. That means the world to me./b

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

