Thoughts on moving forward

exploration

One of my greatest fears is becoming stagnant. I never want to reach the point where I think, this is good enough. I want to keep moving forward, growing, and learning new things.

I’m in pursuit of the balance between self acceptance and personal growth. I want to come to the point where I’m comfortable with who I am, aware of my strengths and weaknesses, and able to exist within society as an individual who isn’t swayed by other’s opinions. I want to work on conquering my weaknesses and use my strengths to my advantage. I will never have the seemingly endless energy of an extrovert (that I often desire) but that’s okay. I have a host of other talents, skills, and traits I can draw on. Here are a few things I’m going to do:

    1. Celebrate my strengths.
      I’m a great planner and organizer. I love the challenge of creating a schedule and fitting all my plans into a 24 hour period. I’m also observant and able to pick up on non-verbal cues quite easily.
    2. Be grateful.
      I want to focus on the people, experiences, and things I’m grateful for. I cherish the connections I have with my friends and family. They mean so much to me and I’m going to let them know how much I appreciate their love and friendship.
    3. Forgive myself for my mistakes.
      I have a tendency to remember all my little mistakes and remind myself of them at the most inopportune times. This isn’t healthy. When I start thinking negatively, I’ll remind myself that I’m only human and mistakes are normal. The important thing is to learn from them and move on.
    4. Set realistic goals.
      I’ve been a perfectionist my whole life. I’m going to start setting realistic goals within a realistic timeline. If things change, that’s okay. I’ll readjust and keep moving forward.

What kinds of goals do you have for yourself?

Image credit: “17/52” by lauren rushing is licensed under CC by 2.0

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on moving forward

Leave a Reply

