On weekends and weddings

Wedding

Just a quick post to let you know I’m still alive 🙂 This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending a close friend’s wedding. We’ve known each other for years, but it was only recently we started spending more time together. I was excited to hear of her engagement and even more excited when the wedding date was set. While I wasn’t part of the bridal party, I still attended the bridal shower, bachelorette party, and the wedding.

I love weddings. I love the atmosphere, the ceremony, and the excitement and joy that fills the room. Having the opportunity to watch one of my friends get married was awesome. Her and the groom were caught up in their own little world, it was so precious. I also sat at a table with several close friends which made the reception more enjoyable as banter flew back and forth. Even though social events like weddings are pretty draining, it was worth it.

It made me think about how introverts, while having limited energy, are willing to spend it on people they care about. Normally I wouldn’t willingly place myself in a large room filled with people. But if I’m doing it for someone who is important to me, its worth the energy drain.

Do you have any other thoughts?

Image credit: “Pre-Wedding” by Jakrapong Kongmalai is licensed under CC by 2.0

Leave a Reply

