A travelling introvert

on a planeThis time Friday, I’ll be on a plane, heading to the US for a 4-day weekend trip. A friend invited me several months ago and I couldn’t think of a good reason not to go, so I agreed. Not my best life decision, I’ll admit. But as the departure date draws near, my anxiety is building. I keep telling myself that I should feel excited, but I don’t.

It sounds kind of silly but I’m afraid I won’t be able to eat much this trip. I’m currently following a strict low-FODMAP diet so I can figure out my food sensitivities. It’s under the supervision of a medical professional (not just something I wanted to do) and is very important to me. As a result, there are a lot of things I can’t eat right now. I can’t eat most restaurant food (some exceptions being steak and sushi) and we’ll likely be eating out more often than not. I’m bringing as much food as I can, but I can’t bring everything.

We currently have two big group meals planned at an Italian and an Indian restaurant, both of which don’t have a lot of options for me. I’ve messaged my friend asking for links to both places, so hopefully I can peruse the menu now, rather than day-of. I also let them know that there’s a chance I won’t be able to eat much there. I didn’t choose to have food sensitivities, and hate missing out on food, so I’m going to be a bit selfish and request we go to another restaurant if there’s nothing I can eat there.

My friend has also planned a lot of activities for the weekend. Despite the fact that they’re also introverted, they seem fixated on filling every available moment with social activity. They’ve messaged me a couple of times throughout the week, asking if I’d want to do ‘insert activity here’. I’ve told them I’d rather read or go for a walk. They then make up reasons we should do said activity. I’m already getting frustrated and I haven’t even gotten there yet.

Any suggestions on staying sane?

Image credit: “View from the plane” by Dan DeLuca is licensed under CC by 2.0

11 thoughts on “A travelling introvert

  1. Bart Leahy says:

    My sister is a big “planner,” though she has learned that it’s better to underplan when dealing with me. I need programmed-in “Bart time.” If my wishes are ignored during the planning phase, I beg off on site, saying, “I need to go back to the hotel to take a nap.” Oddly enough, sometimes I do just that. Bring books with you and have them visible on your person or in your room so your companions get the hint that reading is part of your vacation time.

    Not sure what all the dietary stuff is about, but some Italian places I’ve been to manage to serve up a pretty decent steak. As for Indian food, you’re on your own there; however, when a group of folks I know plans to go out for that, I answer quite honestly that I’ll go off on my own because Indian food and I do not get along at all.

    No idea where you’re going in the States, but I hope you manage to have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      That’s a great idea, I’m definitely bringing a couple of books and if things get too stressful/overwhelming, I’ll pull them out. I’ll figure out the food somehow, even if it means suggesting another place to eat. I’m feeling a lot better overall about the situation. Thank you for those ideas, I think they’ll really help! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. mawil1 says:

    I agree with Bart. Claim nap time. Ditto re Italian, steak and vegetables not a problem. It’s better in the long run for everyone. After an alone break you are re charged to be interested and sociable instead of worn and grumpy. You are doing it for them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      That’s a really great point. If I don’t get alone time, I’m going to be worn out and irritable and not much fun to be around anyway. I’ll definitely carve out some nap/reading time. Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. twainwall says:

    Sounds to me that your friend is a social introvert (sometimes I hate tags) :). I think that they will understand that you need some alone time and time to re-charge your batteries.

    Not really sure about the food thing, I think your pretty much doing what you can by looking at the menu’s of the places you’re going to eat at. I would say one other thing about your diet though and that is bring some information or send some information to your friend so that they might get to know how your body might react to the wrong sorts of foods that aren’t on the diet plan. I know that if they are introverts like us and like you say they are, they will probably absorb the information like a sponge and take your needs into consideration (hopefully) 🙂 – sorry I know that’s not really much help.

    I really hope you have a great trip though and maybe it will be a bit of an eye-opener too! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Yeah, I think they’re trying to cram as many activities into the weekend as possible, which makes me want to hide under a blanket haha 🙂 But I’ll bring my music and my books and if I need a break, I’m going to take one.

      I have an information sheet about my diet I bring with me everywhere, so its easier to explain what I can/can’t eat. So that will help immensely. I’m honestly feeling a lot better overall so I hope it goes well! Thank you for your ideas and tips 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Warrior Freya says:

    That sounds like a tough situation. They’re probably excited for you to be visiting and want to make it a memorable experience for you. Something that may help is for you to look into the area a bit and make your own suggestions for things to do. Quieter, slower paced things.

    Are there any parks or nature trails you could go walking? If the weather is too hot for outdoor type activities are there any aquariums or museums that you could to go instead? I know that requires a bit of research on your part, but it might help make the trip more what you want it to be.

    And there’s nothing wrong with needing alone / down time. Especially while traveling. I know for me, the fact that I would be getting on a plane would be enough for me to need some “sit and do nothing” time.

    It’s understandable that you’re going to need a break from activity. Getting to your destination is crazy enough without an endless gauntlet of social events. This is meant to be a vacation, not a punishment. What are the things you want to do? Do those things. Go to those places. Have fun. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Yeah, its a bit difficult because I know they’re excited and want to do all the things. I don’t want to disappoint them by shooting down all their ideas, but at the same time, I just don’t have the energy to do it all. There’s going to have to be a compromise haha. They live in a very small town, and it doesn’t really have a lot of options unless you want to drive somewhere else. I’ve let them know how much I love hikes/walks, but they think that’s too ‘boring’.

      Thank you for the reminder that needing alone time is perfectly okay. I knew that, but I needed to hear it again. I’m feeling a lot better overall, I just think I’m going to need to assert myself in order to get the quiet time I need. This will probably be a great growth opportunity for me.

      Thank you so much for your help and insight, I hope you have a lovely weekend. I’ll keep you posted on how things turn out 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

