A busy, relaxing weekend

BBQ

This past weekend was both busy and relaxing. Monday was Victoria Day, a federal holiday in Canada. As a result, I enjoyed a lovely long weekend at home with my family. I headed down on Friday night and spent the remainder of the weekend there. Friday night and Saturday were fairly normal, then Sunday happened.

Sunday was a crazy, good busy, kind of day. We had a BBQ planned with lots of family and friends attending. I arrived at the location at 9:30 am to help with set-up and food prep. The food and fun lasted all day and we didn’t finish cleaning up until around 6:30 pm. We pretty much ate and talked the entire time! But the fun didn’t stop there. Directly after the BBQ, I headed to a friend’s house for a few hours of Mario Kart and card games. I think I finally got back around 10:30 pm and pretty much passed out. It was a really enjoyable day and I’m happy I went, but I was pretty done by the end of the night.

Monday was the complete opposite of the previous day. It was the most laid back and relaxed I’ve been in a long time. I slept in, which was awesome, and spent the majority of the day relaxing with my family. Since I wasn’t at home, I didn’t have my to-do list haunting me. Several games of cribbage were had, along with snacks and tea. Totally my kind of day. I also fit a workout in which never fails to lift my mood. I eventually drove back home but even that was fairly relaxing and non-stressful.

My weekend was an interesting mix of busy and quiet. I got to spend quality time with friends and family which made it all worth it. There are still times where I wish I had more energy. I still dream about having enough energy to throw myself into everything with reckless abandon (without burning out). But I’ll never be that person and that’s okay. I know that I have a finite amount of energy each day and I have a fairly good grasp on my physical and mental limits. As a result, I can take that into consideration when planning things. Being introverted is definitely challenging, especially when you want to do all the things, but that’s who I am. And if I can’t accept my own nature, how can I expect others to do the same?

How was your weekend?

Image credit: “BBQ” by Harvey Jiang is licensed under CC by 2.0

8 thoughts on “A busy, relaxing weekend

  1. C. Lau says:

    “And if I can’t accept my own nature, how can I expect others to do that same?” – so true and totally agree! It’s so nice reading it because always need a reminder every now and again

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Warrior Freya says:

    I think I began really processing through some of the emotions this past weekend, which meant there was a lot of crying, but I think it was good crying. I know most of this week has been an angry week as I continue to work through different things, but that, too, I think is good. Well… maybe not good, but healthy? Yeah, I think “healthy” is a more appropriate word.

    Anyway, things have still been up and down, but I’m finding a flow with it. It’s weird. I feel more like an ocean rather than the static pillar I’ve always been for people to lean on or crash against. It’s odd having the roles reversed, but I feel as though I’m doing well. I reach out to people when I need to rather than pulling away, and that’s a huge step for me, and I believe it’s one of the reasons I’m as stable as I am. At least as stable as one can be after overdoing it on leg day…

    But yeah, long story long, this past weekend was pretty good.

    I found a new workout thing you may be interested in. It’s on DAREBEE, and it’s called Age of Pandora. Workout RPG? Whaaaaat?!?

    Each “chapter” is a workout. You can do multiple chapters each day if you can handle it. I can see it now… I’m going to run myself into the ground trying to find out what happens next. But I guess that’s sort of the point. 😄

    I plan to start it today along with trying to do the DAREBEE DARE everyday. I don’t know. Five chapters later I might not be able to crawl to my car much less to 20 pike push-ups.

    I’m glad you had a fantastic weekend, and you have no idea how jealous I am that you have people you can play cribbage with. I’ve never been able to con anyone into learning it.

    Take care, Ally, and stay awesome. : 3

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      So happy you were able to process some of those emotions. I can only imagine how overwhelming, but cathartic it would be. Experiencing anger is definitely a healthy thing. I think its far more damaging to suppress anger than to allow ourselves to experience and feel it. Emotions are such an integral part of being human.

      I hope you can continue to walk the path that you choose. The ocean may behave differently than a pillar, but its still strong and powerful and beautiful in its own way.

      That sounds like a super fun workout, exercise plus RPG, sign me up haha! I’ll definitely have to check it out. Cribbage is super fun but it took me a long time to figure out the strategy part of it.

      Hope you have a great rest of the week and a lovely weekend. Take care!! I’m sending lots of good thoughts your way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

