Pursuing my dreams

Pursuing dreamsI have many dreams. Some relate to personal relationships, others to my career, and some to my physical health. There are a lot of things I want to accomplish. One of these is completing a Spartan Race, which I’ve mentioned in a previous post. This is a pretty big one for me and something I would have never thought possible until just recently.

For anyone who wants to start exercising, but is feeling intimidated by the thought, I really want to encourage you to go for it. Taking baby steps still keeps you moving forward. I have never been a physical or active person. I walked quite a bit when I was younger but that was where it ended. Once I got to university, my activity level decreased to the point where walking up a flight of stairs winded me. When I started my two-year college course after that, I signed up for a crossfit class. It revealed how weak and out of shape I truly was. Crossfit definitely helped increase my endurance and stamina. I really liked the feeling of being fit and healthy and wanted to continue in that direction.

However after I graduated, I had to deal with a major health issue that halted my workouts for more than a year. All the progress I made disappeared and I had to completely start over. It took me a while to figure out what my new goals were and how best to achieve them. Eventually I found weightlifting and fell in love. I also enjoy HIIT training and running.

Aside from the physical benefits of becoming stronger and gaining muscle, there are a lot of mental benefits as well. I’ve learned to push myself when I feel like giving up. I’ve put myself out of my comfort zone and tried new things. I’ve gained so much self confidence and have become more in-tune with my body. I know my limitations and I know my strengths. I’ve become more disciplined, which has helped in all aspects of my life. I’m mentally tougher now and can handle more. The endorphins you get after a good workout are definitely a bonus too!

Being able to pursue my goal of completing a Spartan Race and to see the fruits of my hard work is so motivating. Knowing that I’m able to achieve my goals and dreams through hard work and determination has encouraged me to create even more new goals.

What are some of your dreams?

Image credit: “EXPLORED” by Brittany Smith is licensed under CC by 2.0

7 thoughts on “Pursuing my dreams

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    I honestly don’t know right now. A lot of my dreams and visions of the future are gone, and that’s part of the grieving process. I thought about doing my 30 day challenge thing from Chalene again, but decided against. At the time the thought of figuring out new goals sparked a bunch of uncool emotions inside my chest so I pushed the thoughts away.

    I didn’t understand why at the time, but I had the realization from your post that goals stem from dreams. You want something, so you figure out the steps you need to make it a reality. And I guess that’s why it hurt to think about goals. I would have had to come up with new dreams and that means facing the pain of having to let the old ones go.

    Right now I don’t have new dreams. I have a game plan. Go into the military. But I don’t have something that makes me feel fulfilled. I don’t have a goal or dream that fills me with the mix of excitement and fear. That feeling of “I want to do this, but can I do this?”

    I’m not sure if I’ll have any in the near future, but having this realization is comforting. When I finally have another dream, when I finally set another goal, I’ll know that I’m truly beginning to recover. It will be like the first bloom in spring. Maybe it will be small and fragile, but it will be precious for so many reasons, and I’ll do my best to remember that. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I really appreciate your perspective. Please take all the time you need, there’s no deadline to figure things out right now. Healing of any kind takes time and can’t be rushed.

      Its perfectly normal not to have things figured out. In fact, I’m amazed at how many big things you’ve been dealing with, one after another. You’re incredible, strong, and kind. You continue to inspire me. So happy you’ve got a game plan, it’ll give you some of the direction you’re looking for and something to focus on.

      As you wrote, dreams and goals will come when you’re ready for them. They’ll be beautiful and precious, proof of how far you’ve come. Sending lots of love your way ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

