Creating moments of quiet

hiking

If I had to sum up these last few weeks in one word, I’d choose hectic. There’s been wedding preparations, getting sick, spring cleaning, and lots of unavoidable social activities. I’ve barely had time to catch my breath and I feel as though I’ve been running in circles. I haven’t had enough uninterrupted time to make it to the gym and I miss it so much. I’ve been using my pull-up bar at home, but its not quite the same.

However, there’s one thing that has really helped me relax. Every day after work I’ll ‘force’ myself to go for a walk. I’ll give myself two options. The first is a short 7-10 minute walk up and back along a portion of a path that winds around a small pond. The second is a longer 25 minute walk that loops around the same pond with benches at intervals. Regardless of how much, or how little time I have, I can always work a walk into my schedule.

Going for walks is truly a lifesaver. It helps me separate myself from the chaos. Its also a great reminder to slow down, breathe, and appreciate the beauty around me. To exist within the quiet and to reflect.

How do you unwind?

Image credit: “hike” by prodigy130 is licensed under CC by 2.0

13 thoughts on “Creating moments of quiet

  1. sneezypb says:

    Of late, the gym helps me unwind. I get into a groove of moving heavy things which is all muscle memory now and/or analysis of my movement (form) to ensure I am doing the tight thing.

    In the past, driving out in the country on obscure highways going nowhere in particular. Basically just get lost and find my way back. Kind of got out of that when gas prices shot up years and years ago.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ally says:

      I totally agree, I love weightlifting, it seems to just melt away any stress and frustration from the day. The endorphins are a big plus too!

      I love going for long drives, but as you mentioned, its not really an option any more. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Warrior Freya says:

    With everything that has been going on I’ve needed time alone. A lot of alone time.

    I haven’t been going about it in a healthy way. Smoking, something which I would do every once in a while, and only when other people were already doing it, became the crutch that helped me get by. It would ease my nerves. It gave me a reason to be away from people. It smelled bad. It tasted bad. No one in my immediate circle likes it, and that was fine with me. I would sit outside, alone, for 10 to 15 minutes and do nothing.

    I wouldn’t think, I wouldn’t worry, I wouldn’t have to talk or process through anything. Smoking a cigarette gave me permission to relax. And I made myself relax a lot over the past month.

    I threw away the pack I had last night. I’m done using them as a crutch. I’m back in a place where I can workout and begin my routines again. I can start all of those healthy habits which slipped during this time in my life. I’m going to start running again and building my endurance back up. Yoga, writing, reading, even stitching. I haven’t cross-stitched in literally months and my fingers ache to hold the fabric in my hands again.

    There were so many other things I could have done other than smoking, and I’m going back to those things, and I’m happy for that. In hindsight, I could have done any number of things to give myself those 15 minutes, but I gave myself that time, and I think that’s the important thing. I filled my need, even if it wasn’t the choice that other people would have made.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I’m so glad you were able to get that alone time and that you gave yourself permission to relax. That was exactly what you needed.

      I’m also really happy you’ve been getting back into your old routines and habits. Its amazing how routine has a way of making us feel (a little bit more) normal again. I hope you’re able to find joy and comfort in your routines.

      I love seeing your cross-stitch projects, I still have your gift sitting on my bedside table. It makes me smile whenever I see it. Hoping you have a great rest of the week. Sending all kinds of good thoughts your way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

