Running out of time

Time“I don’t have enough time.”

I’ve used this phrase more often than I’d like to admit. However, I’ve realized that I’m using it as an excuse to not do things. I’ve put off a lot of creative projects because I didn’t feel that I had “enough” time to start them. Recently I’ve begun to take a closer look at how I spend my time. Every person in this world has the same 24 hours in a day. Yet some seem to be more successful in their job, hobbies, and creative pursuits.

One of my guilty pleasures is watching youtube videos. There’s one vlogger who gets so much accomplished in a day/week/month. She’s creative all the time, she does sewing projects, makes DIY videos, streams sewing sessions online, all on top of several part time jobs. Seeing how successful she is really motivated me to reconsider my own actions and inactions. Time or lack thereof is not the problem. One of the keys to being successful is self discipline and structure.

I started cutting out things that waste my time. I stopped mindlessly scrolling through social media sites like Facebook, Tumblr, and Twitter. Instead of sitting down and watching youtube videos, I’ll play them in the background when making meals or cleaning. This doesn’t mean I’ll never sit down to watch a movie or show, I’m merely trying to make my moments more productive.

I also implemented a ‘creative time’ after I’ve eaten dinner and cleaned up the kitchen. I’ll put on a playlist from youtube (my current jam is a mixture of Kpop and the Star Wars soundtrack) and make things. Last night, I pinned and cut out pattern pieces for a yukata (an informal cotton kimono) I’ve been wanting to start on for years. Finally making progress felt amazing.

As an introvert, one of my biggest hurdles is lack of energy. After a full day of work and a workout, I’m totally done. Even the thought of meal preparation makes me want to curl up in a ball. I’ve been using this as a excuse to sit and stare at my computer for a couple of hours every evening. There’s nothing wrong with sitting down and binge-watching your favourite show from time to time. But that had become my norm. I can be still be creative while getting the recharge I need. Here’s to becoming more productive and wasting less time 🙂

How do you organize your time?

Image credit: “Time” by Assum Corell is licensed under CC by 2.0

6 thoughts on “Running out of time

    • Ally says:

      Thanks! I think everyone needs something that allows them to feel productive and accomplished. Alone time is still a very necessary part of an introvert’s schedule, but even I can get “too comfortable”.

      Like

  1. Natalie says:

    Haha funny that this came up just now. Same PROBLEM, I am wasting so much time with dreaming, creative plans, ideas, worrying, and after a work day I am not doing anything anymore. I am so unproductive sometimes. At those points, I am not really doing what I want and I am also not doing what I should do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      The hardest part of me doing anything is starting it. Once I physically grabbed my pile of fabric and threw it on the living room floor, then I was more motivated to measure, pin, and cut it. Hope you can find a way to motivate yourself to start doing what you want. Good luck 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fendi says:

    Actually, I am having the same problem too! I am currently studying at uni. I need to go to uni from Monday to Thursday. Instead of going to uni, I prefer to sit on my bed, turn on my laptop for watching YouTube. Time flies quickly! I can’t even imagine that I have spent half a day online, without going out or doing some exercise.
    Thanks for your blog as an reminder for me! I guess I will try to implement some plans for organizing my 24 hours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I hope everything goes well and that you can figure out a method that works for you! I was pretty horrified to realize how many hours a week I spent scrolling through social media sites. That was a pretty big motivator for me to make some changes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

