How I create a blog post

MovingI wanted to write a quick post to let you know I’m still alive haha. I’m almost finished moving. As you can imagine, things have been really busy. I should be able to get the last few boxes moved today after work. Since I haven’t posted in a while, I wanted to share my writing process when I blog. Hope you enjoy!

Step 1: Come up with an idea.
When I’m thinking of an idea to write about, I’ll usually do a number of things. These include, but are not limited to, browsing the internet, checking out other blogs, checking my email, doing errands around the house, listening to songs on Youtube, making tea, drinking tea, and anything else you could imagine.

Seriously though, I have a list of blog ideas, so I’ll usually browse though those to see if any of the subjects pique my interest. I like writing about things that have happened in the recent past. Or I’ll write about how I’m feeling. Its a great way of separating myself from the situation so I can view it more clearly. And the advice and encouragement I’ve received from the community has been incredible. I find that the hardest part of writing a blog post is coming up with an idea. Once you have that, the rest comes together much faster.

Step 2: Write stuff.
Once I have an idea, I’ll sit down and write whatever comes to mind. For an average blog post, that’ll usually be 500-600 words. I’ll write about the idea, give background information, explain how things happened, how I was feeling at the time, etc. At this point, I don’t edit anything.

Step 3: Edit like crazy.
After I have a ridiculous amount of text, its time to go in and cut. I’m pretty ruthless when I edit, taking out the fluff and making sure my spelling and grammar is decent. I’ll also move paragraphs around so it makes more sense to the reader. Once I’ve finished cutting stuff out, I’ll do several re-writes before I’m satisfied. This is definitely the step that takes the longest.

Step 4: All the little details.
Once I’m happy with what I’ve written, I’ll find a picture to accompany the piece. I use the Creative Commons images on Flickr, but there are tons of other options. Then I’ll edit my tags and categories. Before I hit ‘post’ I always preview it to see what it’ll look like.

Step 5: Publish!
Once I’m satisfied with everything, I’ll publish my post. I’ll usually peruse the finished piece for last-minute grammatical errors, just in case.

How do you create a post?

Image credit: “moving house” by Nathan O’Nions is licensed under CC by 2.0

4 thoughts on “How I create a blog post

  1. Bart Leahy says:

    My blog is professionally focused, so I need to make sure I’m writing about topics that are of interest to my audience–business or technical matters related to being a technical writer. I, too, will blargh on the page for a bit before editing or trimming down the excess. Because I’m writing what amounts to a professional advice column, I have to make sure I’m sharing something that my readers can use or at least find entertaining. I’ve set myself a regular schedule for posting–Mondays and Thursdays at 9 a.m. Eastern–so that forces me to keep finding new things to say. Fortunately, as you noted, there are always interesting things to be found on the web, which can provide inspiration. The tricky part is to keep things fresh and useful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      It is challenging to ensure you’re sharing information that is both fresh and interesting. A regular schedule is also really important, especially with that professional focus. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. pearlgirl says:

    Most of the time I just sit down and write about something that’s on my mind. My posts aren’t very structured or consistent because of that, but for me (at this point, anyway) part of the process is learning to let go. To write something down and release it to the world without being a perfectionist about it. Not that there’s strictly anything wrong with that, and I could use a bit of editing, but it’s a struggle of mine I’m trying to overcome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

