A brand new year

tea timeMy last musing was written in the midst of a lot of stress and pressure. Things are going much better this week. Thank you so much to all who provided support and encouragement. Some mentioned things I hadn’t even considered, and really helped me to focus on what I needed to see. Since its January, I thought I’d share a few goals for the coming year.

1. Be content in whatever situation I find myself.
If I find myself in a situation beyond my control, I want to be content and positive. I believe all things happen for a reason, and difficult times often lead to personal growth. Life isn’t easy, but it can be very rewarding. At the same time, if I have the power to change something, I will.

2. Spend more time with others.
This may seem a little counter-intuitive as an introvert. But if I spend too much time on my own, I begin to feel lonely and isolated. If I dwell on this too long, I can become upset or even bitter about my situation or circumstances. But spending time with close friends and family in meaningful contact always makes me feel loved. I also want to give my time to others, as long as I have the energy for it.

3. Be more organized, and act on it.
I already have a substantial list of goals and accomplishments for the coming year. I purchased a really neat weekly planner that will allow me to write down everything in one place. Too often I waste precious time doing things that have no value. By writing down my goals, it will motivate me to achieve them.

4. Take breaks, seriously.
When things get busy, I tend to focus directly on the current challenge until its been vanquished. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing. However, if it goes on for too long, I become frustrated and burned out. Even in the midst of a busy day, I can still take time for tea, for a walk, or anything that gives me some quiet time. My body knows when I need a break, I need to start listening.

Do you have any resolutions or goals for 2016?

Image credit: “Quiet Tea Time” by Kirinohana is licensed under CC by 2.0

10 thoughts on “A brand new year

  1. pearlgirl says:

    Excellent goals! 🙂 My biggest goal for this year is to be more intentional in how I spend my time an energy and how I take care of myself. I, too, waste far too much time on things that have no value. I’m hoping to adjust and fix that.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. davidjterrell says:

    You are absolutely right when you say: “difficult times often lead to personal growth”, the ‘often’ word comes off our attitude, we can change it to ‘always’ if so we desire. Thanks for sharing! Have a wonderful 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

