Reviewing my goals – winter edition

8086562219_9ae24a96cf_zIn September, I gave myself 7 challenges . Its been about three months since then. The link for that post is here if you’re interested. Since its pretty much the start of a new season, I’ve decided to review my challenges, see how I’m doing so far, and adjust if necessary.

Previous goal: push myself physically.
How I’m doing: 4/5
I’m going to incorporate squats, push ups, and burpees into my daily schedule. I’ve started running again and will work on increasing my stamina. I’m going to start doing crossfit workouts again to get ready for the Spartan race.

Previous goal: eat better.
How I’m doing: 3.5/5
I’m going to add more whole grains to my meals. With my increased workouts, I’ll also need to add more protein to my meals and drink more water. At work, I will set a timer to remind myself to drink water.

Previous goal: find the balance between social life and alone time.
How I’m doing: 2/5
I will give myself time to think about an invitation before accepting or declining it. Knowing I have the choice to say yes or no is very empowering. I need to keep reminding myself that caring for myself isn’t selfish.

Previous goal: go outside more.
How I’m doing: 4.5/5
I will take advantage of good weather to go for long walks or runs in the ravine by my place. This will be a little more challenging in the winter, but we’ll see what happens.

Previous goal: embrace minimalism.
How I’m doing: 4.5/5
I will continue to purge clutter from my home. I will donate or giving away things I no longer use. I will keep up with my favourite website here for inspirational posts.

Previous goal: post more content on my blog.
How I’m doing: 4/5
I will keep posting a few times a week. This will include quote posts and things that have been on my mind.

Previous goal: do things I don’t enjoy.
How I’m doing: 2/5
I will look for opportunities that push me outside my comfort zone. I will volunteer more.

What are some of your goals or challenges? Do you have any tips on holding yourself accountable?

Image credit: “2012 Running Room” by Sangudo is licensed under CC by 2.0

12 thoughts on “Reviewing my goals – winter edition

  1. Lana Light says:

    Well done! And keep up the improving yourself work, it’s very inspiring for your readers, I believe!
    As for me, I have embraced minimalism for quite a long time now. It started about 7 years ago with an impulse to throw away several piles (!!!) of my parents’ old books stacked on the balcony for years. The funny thing is they didn’t even notice any of them disappear 🙂 Purging clutter from my home (as well as from my hard disc and my bookmarks bar) a few times a year gives me such an incomparably liberating feeling that it starts looking like a positive addiction 😉
    Oh, and one more thing. I am going to start a few challenges of mine this Friday. It’ll be new moon (in the Eatern Hemisphere at least) which is very good for positive ventures, so I’m gonna take full advantage of it! )))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I agree, there’s nothing more calming than being in an environment that isn’t filled with stuff! It really is a good addiction. Good luck on all of your challenges, its always motivating to see others making changes and pushing towards their goals and dreams 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. twainwall says:

    Well done and nice going. 🙂 Challenging yourself to take some risks is always risky for us introverts…. but sometimes it pays off. 😀
    I review the year myself and try to upgrade and do better in some of the things I have tried or maybe tapper off some of the things that I know haven’t been so good.
    Really lovely blog Ally and thoughtful too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Thank you, that means a lot to me. I know that if I don’t challenge myself, I’ll never grow as a person. Its always good to take a moment to reflect and re-evaluate what we’re doing. Its great for keeping us moving in the right direction 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

