Autumn Reflections – Day 2

IMAG2018*

At the very beginning of autumn, when the days start to cool off, I unpack all my sweaters, hats, and scarves. Its like discovering hidden treasure because I haven’t seen these clothes for six months. I love unfolding and hanging up all my cozy sweaters and rediscovering them. It brings back so many memories. A couple of my sweaters were purchased with my best friend, so every time I see them, I’m reminded of the things we did together. Even though they’re just items of clothing, they’re also connected with good memories. And I love bundling up with them every time I go out.

I cannot endure to waste anything as precious as autumn sunshine by staying in the house. So I spend almost all the daylight hours in the open air.
-Nathaniel Hawthorne

2 thoughts on “Autumn Reflections – Day 2

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    I have to admit that even though I do not prefer autumn and winter, there is something special about unpacking my winter clothes. When I lived at home my clothing was stored in a hope chest that my grandfather made for me. My sweaters and jeans always had this earthy, pine scent to them from being stored in the wooden box.

    Often times I would forget what clothes I actually had, but I would be reminded as I shifted through the items, remembering the events that led to be owning them. Shopping trips with my mom. Hand made clothing from my grandmother. Marching band competition hoodies. I would hold my sweaters up to my face, hugging them against myself as I breathed in the comforting smell that I learned to associated with my family.

    I currently do not have my hope chest with me, but thinking about the whole unpacking process is almost as comforting as actually doing it. Thanks for sparking those memories for me. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      What wonderful memories were stored in your hope chest. I can just imagine the earthy scent, amazing how scents can trigger so many memories. Glad you were able to remember some fond ones 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

