Musings from the road

adventure timeTravel has always held a sense of wonder and enjoyment for me. Whether its flying to a new and exciting destination, or taking a road trip with friends or family. There’s always something special about going somewhere. Sometimes its a family vacation to the beach. Other times its a trip to visit extended family. Or maybe its a road trip with friends to the mountains. Quite often I’ll drive for a few hours to stay with friends for the weekend.

I love making up packing lists and to-do lists and checking things off as they get done. I like to write dates and destinations on the calendar and cross off the days as they approach. To look up restaurants and hiking areas, and attractions at the destination, or along the way.

I love adventure. Exploring areas of uninhabited beach or forest or ravine. Walking along quaint city streets and taking pictures of architecture and the history that the area is steeped in. But as an introvert, I like to do it at my own pace. To slowly walk along the street taking in the scents and sounds. To meander across a picturesque bridge, taking photos all the way. To stop at a quaint cafe and order a coffee or tea. To sit there and absorb the atmosphere of the place. To find out the best places to eat by asking the locals. To wander off the beaten path and explore the hidden gems that can only be found by looking. There are so many amazing experiences that one can enjoy.

What do you like about travel? Where would you like to go?

Image credit: “Rainy Day Hiking” by Louis Vest is licensed under CC by 2.0

14 thoughts on “Musings from the road

  1. VTNessa says:

    I want to go to Scotland. Moss-covered stones, rocky hill after rocky hill, taking my time and wandering around, photographing as much as I can. I’d love to sit and watch sheep go about their business as I hunker down in a solid raincoat, just sitting hillside to watch them. And all the old castle ans abbey ruins would be amazing- to think of all the history filling those places amazes me.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Ally says:

      Scotland is definitely one of the places I need to visit. It really is amazing to think of all the history there. I’d definitely take way too many pictures haha. What an awesome experience it would be 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. exanimo7 says:

    I traveled to London, England with my great-aunt seven years ago. We had an amazing time!

    There are so many other places I would love to go to – Ireland, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Australia, New Zealand, etc. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Ally says:

      That’s awesome that you’ve been to London, that’s another city that I’d love to see! I pretty much want to visit all of Europe, just take the train around to visit the different countries 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Warrior Freya says:

    I love going where there’s nature. Where I can feel like I’m connected to something more than just myself. I love history and seeing where we came from. What helped get society to where it’s at.

    Growing up in Charleston, South Carolina for most of my life I didn’t appreciate how much history was actually around me and so now I find myself playing tourist more often than not when I visit my mom.

    I love going to the small towns, rather than the big cities. The little places that most people don’t think about. I like taking the back roads instead of the highways. I like having plans already made and then actually doing them. But at the same time I also like those days where they get canceled or changed and something better happens. Like dreary rainy days where I can sleep, relax, slow down and not worry about the schedule.

    Sometimes it can feel like I need a vacation from my vacation, especially if I’m going home to visit. Normally I have to figure out how to meet with everyone, and it can become a huge social obligation with little to no alone time.

    But, even with all of that, I love taking a break from my routine. I love getting away and escaping to places unknown. I also love taking someone with me. Having someone to share the memories and experiences with. It makes the adventure worth having.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ally says:

      I totally agree. I have this need to be around nature, at least for part of the time. Otherwise, I start to feel burned out. And I totally agree with you, I always prefer visiting smaller towns over the big cities. It probably has something to do with how overwhelmed I get in crowds. It just isn’t enjoyable for me.

      I’m a huge planner and I typically prefer to have everything mapped out. But at the same time, if plans are cancelled, I really enjoy the free day to wander around and do whatever pops into my head. Rainy days are the best for relaxing and spending time indoors. Then again, I also like to go for walks in the rain 🙂

      I guess for me it depends on my mood. There are times when I need to go for long walks by myself. To collect my thoughts and spend time with just me. But having someone else with you is so much fun too! Sharing experiences often make them ever sweeter 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

