The change of seasons

AutumnIt’s hard to believe its already September. And while the first day of autumn doesn’t officially begin until the 23rd, you can feel a slight chill in the air. It isn’t as hot during the day, and the nights are cooler. There are even a few trees that have already begun to change colour.

Now, I love summer. I love the heat and the sun. I love sitting outside with a cold drink, spending time with friends at festivals, and wearing sandals. I love the heat on my skin, the smell of the grass, and all the good memories that come along with it. So I’m definitely sad that summer is over.

However, if I had to choose a favourite season, it would be autumn. Here are a few things I really love about this season:

The cooler days.
It can still be bright and sunny outside, but without the sweltering heat. I appreciate not being sweaty all the time. I’m also really sensitive to extreme hot and cold temperatures, so when the temperature is in the mid-range, its easier to regulate how I feel.

Cozy clothing.
I love wearing boots, sweaters, light jackets and scarves. There’s something so cozy about layering up and I love wearing fall colours.

Going for walks.
I love walking for hours among the beautiful trees, just taking in the scents and colours of the changing season. I love the feel of the leaves crunching beneath my boots. Autumn also seems to lend itself to contemplation. To pondering the deeper things of life.

Pumpkin things.
I’m not going to lie, one thing that makes autumn even more special is the pumpkin spice lattes you can find at your local coffee shop. They are so yummy and I always make a point of getting one each year.

The feeling and experience.
Its hard to put this one into words. But for me, autumn feels comforting, like a hug. I love the feeling I get when I curl up in a blanket and sit outside. To experience the sounds, scents, and atmosphere of the nature around me. Tea and a book are bonuses. A companion can be nice too, but not required 🙂

What is your favourite season? What are you looking forward to this autumn?

Image credit: “Autumn” by seyed mostafa zamani is licensed under CC by 2.0

12 thoughts on “The change of seasons

  1. Salvageable says:

    I’m with you on love for autumn. The start of football season is great, but so are the baseball playoffs and World Series. I love cooler weather, autumn leaves in color on the trees, autumn leaves crunching underfoot, and just about everything you mentioned. Happy September! J.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

