Musings on the past year & looking forward

Nova scotiaYesterday marked the one-year anniversary of my blog. I can’t believe that so much time has already passed. When I started writing, I didn’t know much about introversion, I was still learning so much about myself, and I wanted to know more. But that came with the frustration of trying to align my newly discovered perspective with the fact that the rest of the world hadn’t changed. I was excited, confused, frustrated, and didn’t have a lot to go on.

My posts were short, I was still unsure of myself. Afraid of how others would see my point of view. In ‘real life’ I was always being interrupted, talked over, ignored, and shut down. I was afraid this would happen online too if I dared to speak my mind and share my thoughts.

But I found the complete opposite. I found a kind and encouraging community of those who had been there before, who were struggling with the same things, who had wisdom and advice to share. I’m so grateful that I started this blog and that I’ve been able to connect with so many amazing and genuine people.

Right now I feel more content than I’ve ever felt before. But sometimes I feel as if I’m not accomplishing everything I want to. A few weeks ago I read a great post on setting goals. I decided to share a few of my own goals as a way of holding myself accountable.

Work & Career
I’ve been working at the same place for two years now. Overall the environment is great, pay is good, and I enjoy my co-workers. Also, in this time of economic instability, having a secure, full-time job is a huge blessing. However, my passion is graphic design. While I fulfil the role of a graphic designer some of the time, and have gotten to do some company branding, its not what I was hoping for. I’m not thinking of making any drastic changes/moves, but I’ve been considering doing freelance work on the side.

Attitude & Emotions
Learning and accepting that I was introverted helped immensely with my self confidence and peace of mind. But there are still things I need to overcome and things I have to learn. I’m working on expressing myself and becoming more assertive. I am still learning to say ‘no’. I just need to keep moving forward and I know things will improve.

Physical & Personal
Over the past couple of years I’ve made a lot of progress in this area. I eat healthy, well-balanced meals and as a result, I feel better and have more energy. I also work out three times a week and can see physical improvements in strength and muscle gain. I want to keep improving and ‘levelling up’.

Environment
I want to create a space for me that’s comfortable and comforting. That’s warm and cozy and makes you feel at home as soon as you step through the door. This past couple of years I’ve been living at places with the knowledge that I was going to eventually be moving. I want a space that’s mine, that I love being in, and that’s warm and inviting.

What are some of your goals?

Image credit: “Low tide and fog” by joiseyshowaa is licensed under CC by 2.0

10 thoughts on “Musings on the past year & looking forward

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    Those are awesome goals, Ally.

    Keep on kicking ass and taking names! We’ll level up together. /flex

    A lot of my goals are similar to yours. I’ve been at the same job for three, almost four, years now, and while I love the people and the environment for the most part, I want a change. I want to become better about accepting my reality, even when it’s not going according to my plans. I want to keep improving myself self mentally, spiritually, and physically. I also want my environment to become my Narnia, my safe haven, filled with warmth, love, and acceptance.

    I think we’re both headed in the right direction. ^^

    Congratulations on hitting the one year mark! Hopefully here’s to many more to come. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I look forward to levelling up with you too!

      I also need to learn to accept whatever state I’m in. I need to recognize that things aren’t exactly where I want them, but that’s okay. To accept the things I can’t change, but to work towards the things I want. Too often I end up getting frustrated that I’m not where I want to be right now. But if I view it as a stepping stone to where I want to go, it helps a lot.

      I look forward to spending the upcoming year with you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

