A busy month

SummertimeYou  may have noticed that I haven’t been posting as regularly as I normally do. I’m still working full-time on the weekdays, so that hasn’t changed. But on the weekends, when I can usually take a break and relax, I’ve been really busy.

This past month has been filled with camping trips, festivals, plays, concerts, movie nights, and coffee dates. Overall, its been a lot of fun. I love staying busy and spending time with others. But right now I’m close to burning out.

This past week has really shown me that I need to slow down. I’ve had a hard time motivating myself to do things because I’ve been so tired and overwhelmed. Yesterday I was super grumpy, which rarely happens, but really reveals that I’ve been pushing myself too hard.  I’ve starting doing more things on autopilot. As a result, I ended up leaving a really awkward voicemail on Wednesday. I was exhausted and needed to phone one of our clients. I knew what I had to say, but when they didn’t pick up, I was forced to scramble around in my head for a message to leave. It ended up becoming jumbled and confusing. Fortunately, I followed up with an email, explaining the situation in a more concise and clear manner.

I’ve been able to recharge a bit in the evenings so I’m not a complete mess the next day. But I’d really love a few days to do nothing. That would be awesome. This weekend I’ll be driving a few hours to see a friend, but it shouldn’t be too draining.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

Image credit: “Unstable Summer” by José Manuel Ríos Valiente is licensed under CC by 2.0

6 thoughts on “A busy month

  1. sepultura13 says:

    I understand this – I try to reach out to family and friends and get together to socialize, but one visit per month is draining enough. Doing something every weekend would have me a gibbering mess, LOL
    It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in those feelings.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

