Who am I?

Hide awayIn every job interview I’ve ever attended, I’ve heard some variation of “tell me a bit about yourself”. It seems like a simple request. But for an introvert, it isn’t that easy. How do you describe yourself to someone you’ve just met? What do you include?

Physically, I’m 5’10”. I have brown hair and green eyes. I appear quiet and reserved when I first meet someone, or if I’m in a big group of people. But that’s just what you see on the outside.

I’m sure you already know that I’m introverted, an INFJ, and an HSP. I need alone time to recharge. I love being with people, in small doses. I’m highly affected by loud noise, strong scents, and other physical stimuli. These things can drain me just as quickly as social interaction. I don’t wear my heart on my sleeve and most people have no idea what I’m really thinking. It takes a lot of trust for me to open up to those around me.

I’m a kind and sensitive person. When someone is feeling down, I want to cheer them up, or at the very least, listen to their story. I can’t watch sad movies because I’ll cry during the entire thing, not just the sad parts. I can’t stand it when people take advantage of others and I’m fiercely loyal once you’ve gained my trust. Being yelled at makes me extremely uncomfortable and I’ll probably have to fight back tears. Even an argument going on in the same room upsets me. I’m attracted to the beauty in nature, even things that most people don’t even notice.

Being introverted, I crave connections with people. I’d choose a quiet coffee shop with good conversation over a crowded theme park, every time. I enjoy other outings as well, but my favourites are the ones where we just talk. This makes me a pretty cheap date too 😉 I live a fairly simple life. Most of my time is spent at work, going to the gym, grocery shopping, going for walks, cooking, and other household tasks. I spend my weeknights at home, because by the end of the work day, I’m exhausted. But I’ll use my weekends for seeing friends and doing exciting things. I still struggle with saying ‘no’. But I’m getting better and I don’t feel guilty any more. I’m currently interested in nutrition and exercise/workouts. I love the feeling of lifting weight and getting stronger, it’s really addicting.

I’m slowly becoming more confident and independent and I care less what others think. My journey has changed me. Lots of hard things have happened but lots of wonderful things have too. And I’m looking forward to the person I will become in the future.

So, who are you?

Image credit: “hide me away til summer days” by amanda tipton is licensed under CC by 2.0

16 thoughts on “Who am I?

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    I like answering the question, “Tell me about yourself,” with the phrase, “I’m complex.”

    I can’t condense 26 years down into something that others can understand in a few minutes. I know what I view as important. I know what I’m comfortable with sharing. But that silly phrase always blindsides me.

    I normally get smiles sometimes laughs at my response. Sometimes they will give me more guidance and direction with another question about something a bit more specific. Other times it gives me the few seconds I need to recover and to come up with something for an answer.

    Either way, it’s a total truth. The one word I will always go use to describe myself is complex because I feel that is honestly who I am. : )

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Léa says:

    Education, time, experience and other factors showed me that when advocating for others, I could crawl out of my shell. Over time, it is less difficult and exhausting but I may always be more comfortable my old quiet and reserved self.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sepultura13 says:

    Hello there ! I like your blog – I never considered myself an HSP, but perhaps I have some traits that I never applied to my personality…I always thought it was “being creative.” 😉

    I’m an ISTP, so I would definitely describe myself as ‘complex’ – it’s the only label that really fits, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bizzy0 says:

    At job interviews I feel nervous because so many employers think that being extroverted is a pre-requisite for absolutely everything. I want to find workplaces where I’ll thrive, but I also don’t want to lose a job opportunity just because the interviewer thinks I’m not “outgoing” enough. I need to work on an elevator pitch that really represents my value because I tend to sell myself short. Thanks for reminding me that I can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Its sad that so many consider loud/outgoing=positive and reserved/quiet=negative. I also have a hard time selling myself and my skills. Especially because I tend to be harder on myself than anyone else would be. I hope your future job interviews go well, you can do it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

