Spending time with friends

talkingLast weekend I attended a small party at a friend’s place. We spent most of the night sitting around the patio talking. The two extroverts in the group dominated the conversation. Topics flew back and forth between the two of them. The rest of us would contribute something every now and again. But for the most part, we were content to listen. I enjoyed the first couple of hours but then the exhaustion began to set in. It was just another reminder of how limited my energy is in these situations.

If you had looked at our group, you would have seen two people passionately discussing things and five quieter people who didn’t say as much. One might assume the loud ones were the only ones having fun, but that wouldn’t be true. Despite my exhaustion, I enjoyed myself, and I could tell my other introverted friends did as well. I enjoy spending time with friends, even if they have way more energy than I do. Introverts and extroverts both have something unique and special to share.

One of my close friends is extroverted. When we hang out, he usually needs someone to listen to him and I’m happy to do it. But he’s also incredibly perceptive. There have been several times where I’ve been stressed out or feeling overwhelmed. He’ll ask me how I’m doing. I’ll reply with the customary “pretty good”. But he’ll just look at me and say, “Really? It seems like you have something on your mind.” And he won’t rest until I’ve told him about what’s bothering me. It’s refreshing to have someone who can see past my façade and wants to know how I’m really doing.

This really makes me appreciate the different types of people in my life. Yes, there are the acquaintances who come and go. But there are also those who are genuinely interested in who I am. I don’t have a lot of friends, but the few I have are very special.

How do you like to connect with friends?

Image credit: “talk” by Rodney Troy is licensed under CC by 2.0

2 thoughts on “Spending time with friends

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    I really enjoy having meaningful one on one, or small group, conversations.

    There’s something about sharing your thoughts with someone that nothing else can really replace. Mental connections are a huge deal for me. I like understanding people and what motivates them. I like being trusted with their feelings and concerns.

    I like knowing they value my opinion and insight, which makes it sound sort of selfish and self-fulfilling. But there you go.

    Honestly I’m a pretty cheap date. I’m totally down for staying in comfy cloths, curled up on the couch with some snacks and having a good conversation for a few hours. No need for any of that going out nonsense. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I always love reading your comments. I agree with them so much 🙂

      Mental connections are the best connections. I can be in a large group of people and feel more alone than when I’m with a close friend, or even by myself. I want to know what’s important to that person, what they’re passionate about, what they love.

      I’m totally a cheap date too haha. I love good conversation while going on a walk/hanging out at home rather than spending a lot of money going out somewhere.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

