The Movie About High Sensitivity I’ve Been Waiting For

This is a lovely post about high sensitivity. The video she links to is a beautiful representation of what it feels like to be highly sensitive.

SENSITIVE NEW WORLD

Remember when I wrote about Elaine Aron’s trailer for her documentary Sensitive: The Untold Story? No? Well, you can read about it here and here.

I was underwhelmed. I wrote that it was banal and didn’t reflect the HSP aesthetic at all. Yes, I think there is a HSP aesthetic. But, I suspect it wasn’t made with that in mind which is fine. Disappointing but fine.

I imagined if I was going to make a movie about HSP I would hire the best artist I could find who maybe was also highly sensitive, give him/her cash and the only instruction I’d give the artist is “make a movie about HSP that best represents who you are as a sensitive person AND more importantlyas an artist.”

On Monday, I received a newsletter email from Ane Axford with a link to a book she described as a children’s book for…

View original post 497 more words

2 thoughts on “The Movie About High Sensitivity I’ve Been Waiting For

  1. VTNessa says:

    I’m new to your blog (and have a 3 month old foster child who beautifully takes up much of my time!), so forgive me if you have blogged already about it, but have you read “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking” by Susan Cain? I’ve not yet finished, but have felt like someone understands me, at least better than most, while reading what I have so far. It’s not about HSP per se, but it’s so closely ingrained in many introverts that it does come up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Quiet by Susan Cain was actually one of the first books I read about introversion 🙂 It completely changed my perception of myself and finally helped me to understand that there wasn’t anything wrong with me. It felt as though someone knew exactly what I was thinking, my thought processes, and my struggles. It was very reassuring. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

