What are you doing this weekend?

friends chattingMy weekends are relaxing. I spend hours alone recharging. I use my quiet time to prepare for the upcoming week. My weekend is like the eye of a storm. Its a small quiet moment of reflection before the work week starts again and things get busy.

But this weekend is going to be a little different. I’m going to be attending a local comic/pop culture convention and I’m super excited. Yes, I’m introverted and highly sensitive to stimulus. Yes, the whole place is going to be packed full of people. Yes, its going to be extremely draining. But I’m still very excited to go.

Introverts often willingly put themselves in situations that will drain them. I’m more than willing to do things that drain me IF its for something or someone I love. I will go shopping with friends because I want to spend time with them (I just need some quiet time once I get home). I’m willing to go to a noisy convention because I enjoy the art and culture of the event (I just make sure to take breaks when I need them). Even though introverts don’t get the energy high from social interaction, it doesn’t mean that we don’t enjoy doing things. I may not have plans most weekends, but when I do, its going to be something I really want to do. Something I’m passionate about. And it’s a lot of fun.

But I’m not going unprepared. I’m bringing snacks and water. I know where all the bathrooms are, should I need a quick break. And I’m going with one of my best friends. So even though I will be tired and drained afterwards, I’m also looking forward to it!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Image credit: “Fun times” by Elis Alves is licensed under CC by 2.0

4 thoughts on “What are you doing this weekend?

Leave a Reply

