The beauty of quiet

EnglandI am not a morning person. I have never been a morning person, and I suspect, I will never be one. Its far easier for me to stay up late and get things done, than it is to get up early to do things. I shower in the evenings. This is because I know that when I wake up, I will choose to sleep for an extra 20 minutes rather than shower. So why then do I like working early?

The answer is simple. Quiet.

I love my quiet time in the morning. I love the quiet drive to work. I love the quiet office before everyone starts to arrive. I enjoy working in complete silence with no distractions. I enjoy sitting at my desk with a cup of tea, working away at my tasks in complete peace. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about quiet time, how much I need, and why I enjoy it so much. Here are a few quotes I really enjoy on the subject:

I never found a companion that was so companionable as solitude.
-Henry David Thoreau

Solitude is very different from a ‘time-out’ from our busy lives. Solitude is the very ground from which community grows. Whenever we pray alone, study, read, write, or simply spend quiet time away from the places where we interact with each other directly, we are potentially opened for a deeper intimacy with each other.
-Henri Nouwen

A man can be himself only so long as he is alone, and if he does not love solitude, he will not love freedom, for it is only when he is alone that he is really free.
-Arthur Schopenhauer

Follow effective action with quiet reflection. From the quiet reflection will come even more effective action.
-Peter Drucker

But I’ll tell you what hermits realize. If you go off into a far, far forest and get very quiet, you’ll come to understand that you’re connected with everything.
-Alan Watts

Why do you like quiet?

Image credit: “Arnside, Cumbria, England” by Gidzy is licensed under CC by 2.0

10 thoughts on “The beauty of quiet

  1. Ayumi says:

    Quiet time is awesome and I know what you mean. I have a little problem, as I can work best in the late evening and the early morning, so I always have to make a compromise – at one point I have to sleep. 😉
    Love the quotes, especially the last one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ViceVioletVoid says:

    Love the quotes, especially the one fron Schopenhauer. I love the quiet because I don’t have to pretend or live up to anyone’s expectations. There’s no pressure in solitude.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jeanne says:

    I like to think and I cannot do that without quiet and a little solitude. It’s not that I’m thinking great thoughts like a cure for disease, I just like to think through things. I actively seek, and usually find a few quiet moments each day and I’ve noticed something. In my solitude, I see natures’ activity (birds, clouds, trees, etc.) and hear the sounds of that activity more clearly and more emotionally, on a deeper level. Also, if you’re a believer in God as I am, I believe quiet and stillness lend themselves well to opening my heart and mind to greater things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I agree. I think about and analyze everything in order to make sense of things in my mind. And I can only do this when its quiet. Its so true, you really do appreciate nature on a deeper level when you can sit and take it all in. I love sitting by the little pond near my place and watching everything 🙂

      Like

  4. mrs. spike says:

    I completely agree. My mornings are also quiet and peaceful. I do a majority of what needs to get done in the evenings: chores, showers, reading. The thought of getting up early to do all of that before work seems exhausting. I don’t know, though. Maybe I would feel more accomplished if I took care of more of those things before I went to work. Never tried. Probably won’t 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ally says:

      Me too, I’d much rather be productive in the evening than in the morning. I’ve tried doing things in the morning in the past, but its never been rewarding enough for me to make a habit of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Warrior Freya says:

    Quiet lets me think. I can reflect. I can focus on what is happening internally without having to fight through the distractions of conversation, noise, and movement.

    When I’m alone the only things that matter are the things that I want to be important. I can turn all of my attention onto a single task or thought, and keep that focus there until I am done and ready to move on.

    I can do things at my own pace, rather than worrying if I am going too fast or slow for the people around me.

    For me, solitude is very freeing. I can be me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I love being able to focus on what is important to me. When I’m around others, I’m constantly thinking about how they’re feeling and focusing on their needs. Its wonderful how solitude allows me to be myself, rather than what others want me to be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

