Adventures at work

workingI was reading Introvert Power by Laurie Helgoe during lunch yesterday and I read the following quote:

“I talk with many Shadow Dwellers who are mystified by the fact that chatty workers are rarely reprimanded. Sit and gossip and you are fun; close the door (if you have one) and you are antisocial. And we’re talking about work here, not a party!” (Laurie Helgoe divides introverts into two groups. There are the “accessible introverts” that often pretend to be extroverted, and the “shadow dwellers” who don’t try to fit into extroverted society.)

When I read this, I almost laughed out loud, because that is exactly what happens at my workplace. And today was no exception. I arrived at work a bit before 9 am. Two of my co-workers were standing and chatting in the kitchen. I put my lunch in the fridge and then walked over to my desk. A few minutes later, both walked over and congregated at one co-worker’s desk which is conveniently located right behind mine. They continued talking for at least another half hour, but it was probably closer to an hour. It just about drove me crazy, and I was trying really hard to ignore it. If I’m not working while at work, I feel that I’m wasting my time and not earning my wage. I don’t mind talking for a little bit, but after a while I need to go back to work. But I guess a lot of people don’t think that way.

Do you have any interesting work stories?

Image credit: “Working Hard” by Thomas Heylen is licensed under CC by 2.0

6 thoughts on “Adventures at work

  1. Warrior Freya says:

    Things like that drive me crazy.

    “Um… Hello? You realize you’re getting paid to do something, right?… Could you go do it and stop making my job harder?”

    Or if I’m being realistic, “Could you leave the company so I could have your paycheck, since I’m having to do your job as well as my own? At least then I might not be as agitated.”

    It’s one of the reasons I stay so late at work. At least at night I don’t have to worry about people noticing I’m there and striking up a conversation. I’m not here to talk. I have a ton of homework I need to get done, then actual ‘work’ work like grading, then life chores have to get factored in at some point… I don’t have time to waste talking to you about ‘nothing’.

    Do you have a problem, and am I the only person who can fix it? If the answers are no, then why are we talking? I have to work to do, and so do you. It would be nice if you wouldn’t waste company money by procrastinating. If you’re going to do that, at least do it on Facebook where the only person you’re hindering is yourself.

    It’s not that I’m anti-social. I don’t mind chatting during lunch or when I’m on a legitimate break, but when I’m at work I’m at work. Total work head space. The only thing I’m thinking about is the task at hand, and possibly the most immediate task afterwards.

    I’m really not interested in much else until I call it a day.

    /end rant

    I promise I haven’t punched anyone at work in the face… yet… : p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      Your comment made me laugh, I love your sense of humour. I totally agree, sometimes I also feel like punching something, or someone. Fortunately, I have pretty good self control haha.
      Its just frustrating because I don’t really understand what they’re thinking. I was raised with a strong work ethic and emphasis on earning your keep, so I don’t understand when people don’t work. And I know that tomorrow morning will be a repeat of today 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ayumi says:

    Oh yeah, I know that too well. 🙂
    It happened all the time while writing my Master’s thesis. I had some good friends in the same institute and especially one of them has this strange kind of “work ethics” which consists of working for half an hour and then feeling the need to come for a chat for 10 minutes, and then repeat. I mean, especially when you have to write a thesis, for god’s sake, you can’t be interrupted every half hour! Honestly, no idea how he got his done, but somehow he did.
    My attitude is to work as efficiently as possible to get done as soon as possible and actually be able to still do something after work whenever possible. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ally says:

      I totally agree with you there. It makes more sense to work hard and then enjoy yourself after you’re finished. I do take small breaks if I’m working on something over a few hours, but it usually consists of grabbing a snack or listening to music for a few minutes before getting back to work. I’ve never understood people who can chatter constantly and still seem to get things done.

      Like

Leave a Reply

