Dealing with stress

RelaxingAs an introvert, I’ve always been under a lot of stress. Some of it is from the environment and people around me. School and work were the biggest contributors of stress. Deadlines, projects,  presentations, and customer service  can really wear a person out. But a lot of it is self-inflicted as well. For example, I’ll play conversations over and over in my head, analyzing what I should have said and worrying about whether I said the wrong thing. And I analyze everything. Literally everything.

My whole life to this point, I’ve never actively tried to get rid of stress. When put in stressful situations, I tend to buckle down and get the job done. It isn’t until I’m finished a task that I realize how much stress I was under. But even if I don’t realize it, the stress negatively impacts my health. Recently I’ve been trying to find ways to deal with stress, rather than just ignoring it.

I’ve found a few things that help me relax. I go for workouts a few times a week. In order to motivate myself to actually work out, I got a gym membership. But there’s so much you can do at home too, you don’t have to belong to a gym in order to get exercise. I’ve also been going to yoga classes. But on the days when I don’t feel like leaving my house, I’ll watch a yoga video on Youtube and follow along. I also love going for massages, but since they’re so expensive, it doesn’t happen very often.

Listening to music helps me recharge and relax. If I’m feeling frustrated or irritated, I’ll usually play something fast with a good beat to go along with my mood. If I’m in a contemplative mood, then I’ll listen to nature sounds (like running water or thunderstorms) or something relaxing like classical music.

Reading is not only an escape from reality for me, but also effective in helping me relax. I always pair a good book with a cup of tea. Tea always brings me comfort. I also love writing. I started this blog to share my thoughts and feelings, and also to connect with others who feel similarly. Knowing that other people are working on the same things I am is reassuring.

How do you get rid of stress? What do you do to relax?

Image credit: “Day 1 – Relaxing” by Jinx! is licensed under CC by 2.0

4 thoughts on “Dealing with stress

  1. pearlgirl90 says:

    I also struggle with stress but have yet to find the answer to overcoming it. Walks in nature can be very helpful when I’m feeling overwhelmed. It’s hard for me to live in the present moment without replaying (like you said) or allowing my mind to go wild with everything in the future. Writing and photography help me a lot too, they both give me a way to put all of the emotion into something else instead of absorbing it all myself. I also find that getting up a little earlier and having some quiet time by myself with a cup of tea can help start the day off in a better, more peaceful state of mind. 🙂

    Like

    • Ally says:

      I agree, writing is a great outlet for emotion, as I often won’t share my emotions with others unless I really trust them and know they’re interested. Next time I’m up early, I’ll have to make myself a cup of tea, it sounds like a lovely start to the day. Thank you for such a thoughtful reply.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Karlee says:

    Like you I seem to live on stress – it’s definitely not a healthy way to live, but if I stop for even a second then my thoughts creep in and cause me so much grief and havoc.
    To relax I’ll read, I’ve been an avid reader from the day I learned how. I can lose myself in the narrative, in the scene, in the characters. It plays like a movie in my head, the words come to life as I read them.
    I also like to write. I have my personal private journal with my deepest secrets – I’ve kept one of those for the last 23 years. I also have my blog where I am learning to open up more of myself, share the parts of me it’s difficult to explain in person, to learn and grow.
    And finally I draw. I put music on, and draw whatever is in my mind and heart at the time. Sometimes words aren’t enough, so the visual imagery helps me to get whatever I’m feeling out of my system.
    I don’t really ever relax for long, not even when I sleep, so sometimes I forget what it’s truly like to be stress free.

    Like

    • Ally says:

      Thank you for your comment. Those all seem like great ways to relax. I agree, most of the time I am under some kind of stress, so I don’t really know how it feels to be completely relaxed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

