Thoughts on a sunny afternoon

SunriseI’m sitting in the kitchen, the sun is streaming in the window. It’s a beautiful autumn day, the temperature is cooler, another reminder that the summer days have passed. I love autumn. I love the cooler air and the bright reds, oranges and yellows of the leaves on the trees. I love walking through the leaves and having them crunch satisfyingly under my feet. I love the heat of a hot cup of tea or coffee, and bundling up in a sweater or scarf. I love it when the crisp air stains my cheeks a rosy colour. I love going for long walks alone, contemplating the intricacies of life, or thinking up silly ideas for stories. Or looking back on cherished memories. No longer bound by school assignments and classes is a strange but wonderful feeling. I guess I’m technically an adult, but feel like I haven’t made it to that point yet.

Even in terms of my introverted nature, I’m still feeling overwhelmed. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I’m an introvert and I feel so much better knowing this. I finally know why I act a certain way, and that this isn’t because I’m weird, anti-social or somehow lacking. Up until a year or so ago, I thought there was something physically wrong with me. It doesn’t help too when the society around you questions your very nature. But now I do feel a sense of peace. That’s not to say that I’m always confident in myself, because I still experience a lot of self-doubt. But things are definitely improving. I guess I just have to keep taking things one day at a time. But now I definitely feel more comfortable with myself, and more content.

Do you have any tips for self acceptance?

Image credit: “View out the window near sunrise” by Laura Blankenship is licensed under CC by 2.0

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on a sunny afternoon

Leave a Reply

