Introvert misconceptions

SmileIf you’ve ever told someone that you’re introverted, you usually get a sympathetic reaction. Oh, that’s too bad. Or have you tried *insert random piece of advice here*. While more awareness of introversion seems to be growing, there are still a lot of people who really don’t know what it means. They’re under the false impression that you can change yourself and become extroverted. I’ve looked around for inspiration for these points, so they may be similar to other lists out there. Here are seven misconceptions about introverts.

1. Introverts are shy
I’m not shy, just quiet and more reserved. This means that I think before I speak, and I listen more than I speak. There are people who are shy and introverted, but not everyone introverted is shy.

2. Introverts are anti-social
I love people, I just don’t have the energy to spend HOURS of time with them. Introverts love having friends and spending time with them, we are just more selective in who we spend time with and for how long.

3. Introverts don’t like to talk
Personally, I don’t mind small talk, but I’d prefer to talk about something deeper and more meaningful. Also small talk exhausts me, so if it continues for too long, I’ll start to zone out. If I’m in a group conversation and not talking its probably because I’m either overwhelmed, or bored.

4. Introverts are rude
I’m not rude or snobby, I just am not comfortable sharing my entire life story with you after talking for a few minutes. It takes longer for me to make connections with people. Only when I’m very comfortable with someone will I share more intimate details of my life.

5. Introverts are unemotional
I’m not unemotional, in fact as an introvert and a highly sensitive person (HSP) I feel things so deeply. When I’m happy, I’m overwhelmingly happy. And when I’m sad, I’m in a really low place. Only those really close to me will notice these changes.

6. Introverts always want to be left alone
Introverts don’t always want to be alone, but we are easily drained in social situations, so we don’t need as much socializing as an extrovert. And no, I’m not missing out when I don’t go to that huge party haha.

7. Introverts can become extroverts if they try hard enough
Introversion isn’t something that needs to be fixed, and its not something that can be changed. What we need is more awareness and acceptance of introversion as a normal and good thing.

What are some things that you’ve noticed people don’t “get” about you? Any advice for fellow introverts?

Image credit: “Smile” by Nikos Koutoulas is licensed under CC by 2.0

 

2 thoughts on “Introvert misconceptions

  1. newyorkinsomniac says:

    I really enjoyed this post. I related to a majority of things you said and you are right, introverts are very misunderstood. People think they way we tend to act is weird when it’s perfectly normal. Great post!

    Like

    • Ally says:

      Thanks for your comment 🙂 I wish I was able to explain this to people in person, so they could understand me (and other introverts) more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

