So one day…

Flaws by Tash:)I was talking to some people that I know, and they mentioned that one of my (introverted) friends was so quiet. To be honest, I almost started laughing out loud, because she was never quiet around me, and the two of us could talk for hours about interesting topics.

But it made me realize personally, that its only when I am 100% comfortable with someone, that I can share all of my personality. And it was the same way with my friend. We were so close that it was normal to talk for hours, and laugh about random stuff together. We even felt comfortable to sing in front of each other.

But in front of other people, we do seem quiet and more withdrawn. Unfortunately, a lot of people seem to accept that that is all there is to us. But the truth is, is that all introverts are incredible interesting with rich inner lives and a wealth of ideas, passions and interests. My close friends know this about me, and honestly I’m not concerned with being best friends with everyone.

Has anyone else experienced this? How do you react differently around different people?

Image credit: “Flaws” by tash:) is licensed under CC by 2.0

2 thoughts on “So one day…

  1. Maria says:

    Yes I completely agree! I am an introvert and I feel that way all the time. I need to really know someone well to feel free to just “be myself.” What I mean is that once I know someone I feel free to share my personality, but usually I’m quiet and quickly get labeled as a quiet person. It’s not so much that I have nothing to say or share as it is that I feel like I need to be invited to share my thoughts and opinions. Usually I’m listening to what others say and for the most part I don’t find a lot of people who ask me to share what I think or to tell about myself. Plus if I get interrupted I usually let that just take over and then I don’t finish whatever I was saying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

